A circuit board for the TCD1304

The TCD1304 has found a new home. In the datasheet for the CCD there’s a schematic for a typical drive circuit, and I’ve run it through Eagle and sent the files to DirtyPCBS who’ve produced eleven prototype boards.

The picture below shows a populated board. The IC is a hexinverter, which ..inverts the pulses sent to CCD. This means there are few timer polarity registers which must be inverted in the firmware.

ccd-pcb

It works and the few components reduce the noise somewhat, which is quite obvious on the scope:

less-noiseHere’s a screenshot of the output from the CCD connected directly to the STM32F401RE for comparison:

1st-CCD-readThe CCD’s datasheet specifies a supply voltage of 4V, which will be delivered by this ultra low noise PSU based on TI’s TPS7A4700:

DSC01970The PSU was bought from a user on DIYaudio.

DirtyPCBS sent me eleven CCD pcb’s. I will keep three for myself, and the first eight people in the eurozone (sorry rest of the world, but it’s too much of a hassle to ship outside of the European Union) to send me 7€ +shipping will be the happy owners of the rest. Use the contact form on this blog for more information.

I will include a cable, the 2200Ω resistor, the hexinverter and the 2SA1015-Y transistor, but the rest of the components I don’t have in excess.

Here are the Eagle files.

2 thoughts on “A circuit board for the TCD1304

    • Hi Jarrah
      I believe you’re right, it’s excessive.

      At first I considered a simple capacitance multiplier and then an active noise reducing circuit. However, I wasn’t sure if the voltage drop from 5V to 4V would be enough for an LM317 or something similar (I really don’t know much about electronics), so when I stumbled upon the PSU in the article I figured the costs for that would be roughly the same as a cheap low noise circuit plus a 7V or 9V supply. And with the TPS7A4700 I’d be able to power everything with the same PSU that powers the rpi and the nucleo board, which is obviously very convenient.

      Today almost a year later, I’m not sure there’s a significant benefit to running the TCD1304 at 4V compared to simply feeding it 5V straight from the nucleo, but the TPS7A4700 is in place so I might as well use it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

