Gallery

Case up

After a busy fall with work hours averaging 48 per week (yes I deserve some pity points), I haven’t had much time to work on the Raman spectrometer.

With the highschool closed for christmas I can finally put a few more hours in the project (and my girlfriend is out the door too, so I’m not bothering anyone with the mess).

I’m mainly refactoring the code for the STM32 Nucleo F401. It’s already a lot more tidy and I found a few bugs (sorry I didn’t catch them sooner Holly).

This morning I found the time to spend a little time on case work:

The spectrograph and the laser are both cased up in Galaxy 288 cases.

The spectrograph and the laser are both cased up in Galaxy 288 cases.

The almost completed spectrograph with TCD1304, ultra low noise PSU, optics, fiber cable and STM32 Nucleo F401RE.

The almost completed spectrograph with TCD1304, ultra low noise PSU, optics, fiber cable and STM32 Nucleo F401RE.

The JDSU µgreen 532 nm SLM laser with beam shaping optics.

The JDSU µgreen 532 nm SLM laser with beam shaping optics.

It’s clear that the Raman collection setup (the black angular box) will need some redesigning to fit in the laser box – but that has been in the plans for some time now.

The cases are leftovers from my time as a DIY Hi-Fi builder. They’re  Modushop’s Galaxy 288 and measure 230x280x80 mm.

I would like to figure out how to get the fiber patch cable (Thorlabs M15L01) from one case to the other without having to buy two new cables. So far all I can come up with for a light tight exit through the case is playdough. Any better ideas?

Leave a Reply

